6 Login

November 2026 Top Talk

Top Talks

By Doug Myers, President

What’s New With e-Bike Laws?

An increasing number of riders have taken to e-Bikes.  While they enable more people to enjoy cycling, they can also be a serious risk to their riders and to others when used improperly.  Both Oregon and Washington have made recent changes to laws regulating the use of e-bikes. So here’s the skinny:
In Oregon, e-bikes are legal on roads and bike paths unless it’s posted otherwise.  They may not be ridden on sidewalks anywhere in the state. Pedal assist bikes are Class 1 if they are limited at 20 mph, and Class 3 if they can go 28 mph. Class 2 bikes are capable of moving under their own power and, like Class 1, are limited to 20 mph. If they are capable of exceeding the maximum allowed speed, they are illegal.

Riders must be at least 16 years of age until the end of this year.  Unfortunately, the state legislature has reduced the requisite age to 14 years starting in 2027.

New in Washington this year: any e-bike that exceeds 750 Watts of power, can travel faster than 20 mph without pedaling, and that doesn’t rely primarily on human propulsion is classified as an electric motorcycle and requires a valid driver’s license with a motorcycle endorsement, vehicle registration, license plates, and insurance.  They are strictly prohibited for anyone under 16 years of age to operate on public streets. Additionally, e-bikes are prohibited on sidewalks and soft-surface trails.

Just yesterday I was stopped at a red light in Portland and a woman riding a powered cargo bike on the sidewalk nearly clipped my front wheel, going an estimated 15 mph. Laws unfortunately do not stop stupid behavior and they are infrequently enforced in our metropolitan area.  So, practice good cycling etiquette and be aware of your limitations and your surroundings.

Our safety is up to us!